19 Oct 2020


WSCC –  Yellowknife, Northwest Territories

Safety Advisory Committee Member
Mine OHS Legislation Committee Member

The Minister responsible for the Workers’ Safety and Compensation Commission of the Northwest Territories (WSCC), the Honourable Shane Thompson seeks expressions of interest from qualified candidates for the Safety Advisory Committee and the Mine Occupational Health and Safety (OHS) Legislation Committee.

The WSCC has exclusive jurisdiction in all matters affecting safety and compensation for workers injured in the workplace. The Safety Advisory Committee and the Mine OHS Legislation Committee make recommendations for changes to the Safety Act(s) and regulations and the Mine Health and Safety Act(s) as may be required or desirable in the interests of occupational health and safety.

The Ministers responsible for the WSCC in the Northwest Territories and Nunavut appoint members to the Committee on recommendation from the WSCC Chief Mining & OHS Inspector, the Chairperson of the Committee.

The Committee consists of members representing the interests of workers, employers, and such other members as the Ministers consider advisable to appoint.

The ideal candidates will demonstrate an understanding of workplace safety, be of high ethical standards, and have a respect and appreciation of the diverse stakeholders’ interests from across the Northwest Territories and Nunavut. They must be reliable, and commit to actively participate in the work of the Committee.

Qualified individuals can forward their resumes by December 18, 2020, to:

The Honourable Shane Thompson
Northwest Territories Minister Responsible
Workers’ Safety & Compensation Commission
Legislative Assembly of the Northwest Territories
PO Box 1320
Yellowknife, NT X1A 2L9


1212 total views, 3 today

Apply for this Job